IGNORED

Apple IIe - Not possible to use 5 1/4 card in slot 5?

eightbit

I am still a little new to this. Tonight I installed a VGA scaler in slot 7 (works great!) and was going to leave slot 6 open for an eventual CFFA card. I figured I'd move the 5 1/4 card to slot 5 and leave slot 6 empty for now. But, it woudl not boot. The first drive would just continually click strangely and not read the disk at all. I moved the card back to slot 6 and all is fine.

Is slot 5 designated for 3 1/2 inch drives only? Or can you not have slot 6 empty and stick the card in slot 5? Any advice is appreciated!

I think I might have my answer. According to the controller card manual they want you to install the first controller card in Slot 6 first and then if using a 3rd and 4th drive a card in slot 5. I am assuming you cannot just bypass slot 6 and use slot 5 for first and second drive. If anyone can confirm this that would be great.

This may not be a very helpful answer, but in case no one offers anything more specific...

Apple II slots are funny in that they look universal, but a lot of software is coded to certain assumptions, like the 5 1/2" drive controller always being in slot 6, any printer or other parallel connection always being in slot 1, an 80-column card and/or extra memory always being in slot 3, and so forth. (Slot 3 and the 80-column card slot are almost one and the same as far as the computer is concerned, even in models like the IIe that have them as separate physical slots.) So, putting the drive controller in anything other than slot 6 is likely to result in funny behavior.

There's a bit more of an answer here.

• Like 1

But I am referring to this in an Apple IIe :)

In any case, it is probably the software. I only have one disk game (Abuse) and that's all. I have been using it for testing. Eventually I'll either make more using ADTPro, but I am banking on adding a CFFA3000 to this IIe anyway so that's pretty much all I'll need in the end.