IGNORED

Astrovisuon/astrocade black screen

Cdstahlman

Just acquired my astrocade system. It's a unit produced by astrovisuon. I've tinkered mildly with it, but all it produces so far is a black screen.

I was going to recap it, and also replace the rf modulator.

I'm new to this system, so any links to reference material or test protocols id appreciate. I'll join the yahoo group, and will also check out the ballyalley page.

Thanks,

Chris

Just a few suggestions...

If you have someone local that will assist you, it may save time and effort to swap your ICs and/or custom chips into a known working unit to make sure they are not the issue before you do the other work. It's a little daunting for some to perform this work with their precious working Astrocade (and you can't really blame them). But it sure does save time and effort if you can find a brave sole to participate. I would help you if you are in my neck of the woods.

Also, check the incoming power to make sure the supply is working correctly. Do this under load (plugged in and the unit on) but don't short anything out during your measurements. Sorry, but I don't have the numbers handy for what it should be producing. I would not leave it on too long in the state you described it to be in.

You could also carefully remove any socketed ICs, carefully clean the legs and re-seat them. This has brought several vintage systems back from death's door for me including one Astrocade and a Fairchild Channel F.

Good luck!

• Like 1

Thank you. I'm located about a hour north of Pittsburgh, PA.

I cleaned the entire board, and pulled, cleaned, and reseated all the socketed chips. Still no luck. I'm probably going to send it out for repair. (To Ken).

I'll have to test the power supply, all I know is that it does something, as the screen goes black when powered on.

On a good note though, my channel F is working, and I just finished cleaning it up as well.

Edited by Cdstahlman