IGNORED

FPGA systems and emulation?

haightc

How well do FPGA solutions like MIST(er) standup versus original hardware?

What about WinUAE, is it similar accuracy as FPGA solutions?

I used to have a Amiga 500, but was destroyed in a storm when stored at my parent's house.

I've tried WinUAE several years back but found the experience somewhat lacking.

Are emulators advanced enough now that it could feel enough like the real deal or real enough?

Is it worth it to buy one of the FPGA machines?

• Like 1

WinUAE is greatly improved. Emulation is great for an Amiga like experience. Also, DamienD's winUAE collection is perfect for gaming only.
There are solutions for Raspberry Pi that work great, either with the retro pi (if you're only into gaming) or Amibian if you want something as Amiga like as you can get.
You can find A500 Amigas all over eBay right now depending on your budget.
FS-UAE has really come a long way if you like linux based emulation - Amilator is the best option now in my opinion.

If you're looking for an FPGA solution, you may want to wait until Vampire v4 is available. It looks to be the best as far as speed, compatibility and features.

You can google any of the above for more information.

Edited by Sinphaltimus
  • Like 1

How well do FPGA solutions like MIST(er) standup versus original hardware?

What about WinUAE, is it similar accuracy as FPGA solutions?

I used to have a Amiga 500, but was destroyed in a storm when stored at my parent's house.

I've tried WinUAE several years back but found the experience somewhat lacking.

Are emulators advanced enough now that it could feel enough like the real deal or real enough?

Is it worth it to buy one of the FPGA machines?

Actual hardware, FPGAs, can reproduce exact timing better than software can, but that depends on how well the FPGA is programmed, and they can only simulate analog hardware without external hardware. This is the case with things like SID chip emulation.