IGNORED

Montezuma's Revenge

AAA177

Since I started playing this game on the Atari 800XL, I am putting this here, even though I am now playing it on Colecovision Flashback.

I've always liked this game. It's great on all platforms, but I have to admit I am more used to the better graphics of the computer version, so I haven't really pursued it too much on the 2600 (although that version is still very, very good).

I'm sure many have played this title, so I was curious to ask -- does anyone get annoyed by the fact that falling kills the character? To me, that seems like it could be considered a design flaw. However, it occurred to me that maybe the game might be too easy if that weren't the case (probably not for me, though). I was wondering what others thought about this.

One thing maybe we can all agree on: the Coleco controller with this game is a terrible experience (yet, I still play)...

Absolutely one of my favorite games too! I play it on my 800 that is connected to my monitor with a S video cable. I still get mad when

I feel like I should have made it over a snake/skull/spider, and smack the joystick down on the table in disgust! And I'm over 65.

Sometimes it's more fun not to grow up!

DavidMil

• Like 6

If you have not played/tried playing "Bristles" - then give that a good go - and enjoy it?

You can screw up in playing this game as much as you like - as it is time based.

I think this game design - reworking the platform game, is brilliant. It does take time to get use to how the character moves and jumps - but once you get use to that - it works nicely.

I, too don't really enjoy platform games in which you make one mistake - that you lose a life and have to start all over again. Likewise for other games that follow this format - in other game genres.

Someone may have trained Montezuma's Revenge - maybe? This happens a lot for C-64 games? That someone hacks it - and then have options to turn on/off such things as collision detection, etc..