IGNORED

1050 Floppy drive help please

#1 what do you mean? The atari screen goes black when booting from it?

#2 might be an alignment issue.

#1 has the disk in the drive. (The Nightmare) the computer boots up, the drive reads the disk, displays "Hello.......", then reverts to a black screen. Only key that responds is Reset, which brings me to the blue Ready screen

#2, is there a way to correct this?

#3 has power, the drive light comes on, but does not get read by the computer.

Sorry for the questions, but I'm a complete novice as far as these guys are concerned.

Edited by lokidchser

Do you have any drives that work properly and boot your 800XL completely as it should? That way you can rule out anything unrelated to the drives.

You might try a simple cleaning as a start with alcohol. Do you have a 5 1/4 disk cleaner? That's the easiest way.

-Eric

Do you have any drives that work properly and boot your 800XL completely as it should? That way you can rule out anything unrelated to the drives.

You might try a simple cleaning as a start with alcohol. Do you have a 5 1/4 disk cleaner? That's the easiest way.

-Eric

Unfortunately, everything was recently obtained, including the computer, so no known working drives. also, no 5.25 disk cleaner

ok, have 3 1050 5.25 inch drives. #1 seems to read the disk, but then reverts to a black screen. #2 gives a Boot Error message, and #3 seems to not be recognized by the 800XL. Are any of these issues easily repairable?

#3 could be the ID switches which cause it not to be configured as D1:.

It could also be U1, a CA3086 transistor array which buffers the DATA-IN/DATA-OUT & COMMAND signals. U1 is known to sometimes fail when the SIO cable is unplugged while the drive is powered up.

saw that. I have a Basic cart in the slot. How do I find out it I have Rev A?

If you're using an 800XL, it's likely got Rev B BASIC built in, possible Rev C. Nearly all the brown metal BASIC carts are Rev A.