IGNORED

3DO Fz-1 Internal Fan issue

Hello all first time poster here. My 3dos internal fan has been running continuously so long as the console is plugged in. Is that normal or a common issue? How would I be able to fix it? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

It could be a number of issues:

• Heat not dissipating forces the fan to continuously run
  • Thermostat can be misreadin internal temperature, keeping the fan running
  • Fan motor may be aging and is making a lof of noise which you hadn't noticed before

If it were me I'd get a new console, but I'm no expert.

Is the fan making excessive noise? My fan rins the whole time the system is on at least on my FZ-1 model. When mine seemed to be having what I thought were heat and didc reading issues I took the 4 screws out of the bottom and removed the top shell for it to breathe. It seemed to freeze less and read discs better without issues so I assumed there was an internal heat issue

The 3DO can run hot.

You can remove the internal shielding first (I do'nt remember how much there is).

Some people have bough adhesive radiators for the chips that run hot in the console, it's a good solution too.

$_1.JPG

They come either with adhesive or you buy your own adhesive thermal paste.

I haven't done yet on my 3DO, but I did it on my Bally Astrocade and the result is clearly in favor of having those radiators.

Note that apparently, later FZ-1 console had passive cooling, which mean that a failure of your fan wouldn't be critical.

But anything you can do to make your console run cooler is always welcome.

• Like 1

• 1 year later...
  • 1 month later...