IGNORED

Tower of Rubble [ON HOLD]

mksmith

[ON HOLD]

So DionoiD has now released his WIP of Tower of Rubble and his take is amazing to say the least! Great visuals, music and game play really makes it a fantastic Atari 2600 conversion. So for now I'm going to leave this to one side - I might pick up the game to maybe do something different down the track. I'm also making the source code available if anyone wants to make use of anything.

Tower of Rubble

How long can you survive on the lethal TOWER OF RUBBLE as it crumbles and rebuilds itself around you?

This is my first Atari 2600 game written batari Basic and DPC+ as a way of learning to code the Atari which I have recently returned to after a very long hiatus. I started coding just before Christmas so about 4 weeks worth of work so far.

How to play

Control the player with the joystick only (no fire button) moving left and right to run across the tiles and pushing up and down to climb. Learning to jump is key to surviving the tower and is essentially automatic:

• you jump off the edge and depending on whats in front of you, you will jump across and hang or drop and hang
  • you can climb down backwards into a hanging position then move left/right to jump across (again depending on whats in front of you).
  • there is a short jump (between 1 tile gap) and a long jump (between 2 tile gap).
State of the game

Currently a basic mechanics of the game is complete and the following is essentially complete:

• the player can run, jump, climb and hang around
  • the main beam drops tiles randomly
  • another beam destroys tiles and sends them crumbling into the water (moving from the outside-in)
  • some basic sounds (walk, jump, death)
  • pause game with Color/B&W button (press fire to continue)
  • game currently ends and pauses for a period of time before returning to title screen (you can restart directly after a short pause here by pressing fire)