IGNORED

[WIP] RetroVenture (Development Thread)

Maurice Den Braber

Hello People,

As I'm an absolute newbie here (this is my first post ?).

A little introduction is in place I guess.

My name is Maurice and in my daily life I work as Coordinator / Senior network engineer at a fairly large ISP in The Netherlands.
So on a daily basis I'm mostly into maintaining and configuring our network / servers as well as coordinating my team to keep things as highly available as possible. ?

I'm quite familiar with Cisco and Linux and do a lot of Bash programming as well as some PHP / MySQL stuff.

Far, far, far away from programming my first 'game' using Batari Basic.

However I have a soft spot for old game consoles and as the Atari 2600 was my first game console I decided to see if I could make something nice for it. 

I'm working on and off on it in my spare time, which is scarce with a 8 year old kid and lovely wife.

So I'm creating 'RetroVenture', the video shows a very short clip of playing it. 

It's simple and basic, I just try to set achievable goals for myself and add something useful every now and then.

The goal of the game is to walk around the city and enter buildings. In these buildings you can find parts for your next-gen gameconsole.
If you've collected all the parts, you can build your new game console.

The faster you collect them, the higher your score will be.

I have part of the city done, as well as some in building stuff as well. Currently working on a title screen and looking in to sound effects and background music.

Anyway, just wanted to share my work in progress. Again, i'm very new to this but hope to bring this little hobby project to reality one day and would like to post my updates here, if appreciated. 

Edited by Maurice Den Braber
  • Like 9