IGNORED

C-64/C-128 Questions

Tempest

After pulling out my Apple the other day I got to thinking about other computers of the same era. For awhile I thought I might dabble in the Atari ST, but for some reason it just doesn't grab me (it's too foregin to me). While I'm happy with my good ol' Apple, I'm reminded that the graphics aren't all that great (can we say artifacting to the extreme?). So I thought that maybe a C-64 or C-128 would be the way to go. Same style of games, but with much better graphics (and cartridges!).

Now as a C-64/C-128 newbie I have some questions:

1. Is the C-128 100% C-64 compatible? Is there any reason to go with the 64 over the 128? Does the C-128 have a cartridge slot?

2. What is the Plus/4? Is it compatable with c-64 software? Is it worth looking into?

3. What do I need if I just want to play games (let's forget tape stuff for now)? A system, a disk drive, and a monitor right? Do I need any memory upgrades or things of that nature? What about speech (Was there a seperate add on for that?).

4. When it comes to comparing Apple IIe games to C-64 games, how do they compare? Obviously the graphics and sound are better on the C-64, but what about the gameplay? Is he C-64 surperior in all categories?

5. Is there some kind of SIO2PC interface for the Commodore? Some way to transfer disk files to the C-64/C-128? Can you burn C-64 games on disk on a IBM with a 5.25 drive?

Oh and does anyone have a large C-64/C-128 collection they want to trade or sell? :)

Tempest

I think I can answer your first question...

As far as I know, the C128 <B>is</B> 100% C64-compatible, as it runs in three modes: C128 mode, C64 mode and CP/M mode. I believe it has all the same ports and slots as the 64, if not more.

But since there wasn't a heck of a lot of C128 support, at least in comparison to the 64, there wouldn't be a heck of a lot of advantage of having a 128; just really a more advanced operating system and an 80-column display.