IGNORED

Noob seeking advice

2600Ibarelyknewher

I’m looking to replace the capacitors on two Sega game gears I own. Both are VA5-837-10766 motherboards, I have compiled a list of parts from mouser to complete the task. I’m no expert but this is what I have compiled from mousers website.

https://www.mouser.ca/Cart/

Let me know your thoughts, it seems like they all should be right for fitment on the board and the ratings of the capacitors themselves.

Edited by 2600Ibarelyknewher

36 minutes ago, 2600Ibarelyknewher said:

I’m looking to replace the capacitors on two Sega game gears I own. Both are VA5-837-10766 motherboards, I have compiled a list of parts from mouser to complete the task. I’m no expert but this is what I have compiled from mousers website.

https://www.mouser.ca/Cart/

Let me know your thoughts, it seems like they all should be right for fitment on the board and the ratings of the capacitors themselves.

That link will only show you your cart, no one else can see it.

2 hours ago, -^CrossBow^- said:

Anything wrong with just getting these?

https://console5.com/store/game-gear-cap-kit-va5-majesco-1-71-7923a.html

I just didn’t think doing this from off the shelf capacitors would be so difficult, I’m just having  a hard time making sure the sizing is correct. I don’t think the game gear requires high ESR caps or anything special in that regard. 

4 hours ago, 2600Ibarelyknewher said:

That would cost much more 40 as opposed to 26 from mouser. Its also in Canada so I won’t have issues with shipping via cross boarder at the current time. 

How so? You stated you had 2 GGs to cap. The caps from Console5 are $7 each. So that is only $14 for the two kits. Now there is shipping ontop of that of course so are you saying it would cost $26 to ship those two caps to you to Canada?

22 minutes ago, -^CrossBow^- said: