IGNORED

Zombie Crisis (WIP)

slacker

I started learning batari Basic in June and have been playing around with it on my free time when available. Here is my first Atari 2600 work in progress. It's an action/adventure game based around trying to escape a zombie outbreak. The game is currently a 32k ROM but at least half is unused as I went for a larger ROM file so I could include more screens later. The current game only includes the first section of the game.

The goal of each area is to get the gas can to fuel the car enough to keep going to the next location.

The very rough "story" I have for this game:

You finally took the long road trip up to Cranberry Lake, NY to pay your respects to 
your parents who passed years prior in an accident. You haven't visited their graves 
in many years and the guilt of never having the time to go finally caught up to you. 
While walking to the graveyard, you meet up with an old man who was your parent's 
friend and neighbor. He is happy to see you and lets you know he's going fishing at 
the lake just north of the cemetery and that you should  come seem him after your 
done with your folks to catch up.

While at the grave site you notice that the ground at another grave appears to 
break apart as a hand reaches through the soil....

Controls:

• Joystick moves
  • Button fires (once you find a gun)
  • Color/BW switch pauses game
  • Left Difficulty in A Position: Lose all items and progress on game over.
  • Left Difficulty in B Position: Items and progress is saved on game over. (Until a reset)
  • Right Difficulty in A Position: Full Speed Monsters and Full Damage (v02)
  • Right Difficulty in B Position: Half Speed Monsters and Half Damage (v02)

On title screen, button starts the game. On "car" screen, button drives off.

Tips:

• Colored barriers require keys to unlock them.
  • Treat the gun as a machine gun. Hold the button down when firing otherwise some enemies will take forever.