IGNORED

Polymorphic Entry?

gar0u

I'm just getting started, but have a what I think is a pretty cool idea.  Wanted to run it by everyone to see what you think.

1. Variable space is going to be a challenge

2. The base graphics will always be the same

3. The base game mechanics will always be the same

4. The game itself will be "polymorphic"--meaning that each game will be unique

5. To play the game, you run a Python program that generates some random tables (see #1 above)

6. The random tables are populated into an IntyBASIC program

7. Python then compiles and links your game

8. You now have a unique 'quest' set in a familiar world with familiar game mechanics to play

9. When you beat your quest, or if you don't like it, you just rerun the Python program to get a new game

I don't want to spoil to much more of it at the moment.  Just curious what everyone things about my approach.

Thoughts?

Reminds me of one of my crazy ideas from my early Inty development days.  Have a subscription where members would get a unique ROM image that would be different each month.  For that month, the character goes to different places like thrift shops and swap meets and enters into tournaments (a minigame), trying to build up a collection of something, maybe trading cards.  The game would generate a code that members would submit by e-mail, so I could keep track of their collection, which would be encoded into their ROM image for the following month.

With that said, I like the idea of a "generator" meta-game.  Definitely go for it.

• Like 1

On 9/26/2020 at 11:18 PM, nanochess said:

Interesting idea for the contest.

Just take in account that judges will only try one BAS variant (the one you send) because the entry validation will be performed and they will only play the resulting ROM file.

Sounds fair.

Which in general terms also means that the tools used to arrive at the submitted code do not matter. I like that principle.

• Like 1