IGNORED

MUSIC command in IntyBASIC

dotyj

Hi all:

I got bored and bought an Intellivision earlier this month.  I also downloaded and installed the IntyBASIC SDK and I think it's wonderful.

I'm not new to the Intellivision, I had a Tandyvision back in 1984, but traded it for a Vic-20 in 1986.

I bought the "Programming Games for Intellivision" had bound book and it arrived on Tuesday and I've been going through the tutorials.

I'm not new to BASIC programming, I've been programming in BASIC since 1978.  So thankfully I don't have a huge learning curve going on.

But, I think I'm missing something with the MUSIC command.

I understand the DATA statement and the general syntax.  I wsorked out that S is sustain.  I also see that the letters represent notes and that the # sign is sharp.

But I'm confused on the numbering system after notes, say C4,-,-.  What's the 4 for?  Is it to represent octives?  If so, which number would represent middle C?

I'm assuming that if I were to type something like MUSIC C4,E4,G4 I'd produce the C chord.

I'm not well versed in music theory so excuse any ignorance with how chords work.

Also, I don't understand how to choose instruments?  Or is that even a thing.

Thanks in advance to anyone who can explain this to me, and I ask forgiveness if this has been asked many times in the past.  I tried searching for this subject but didn't find anything.

MUSIC works like this.

First is the note: C. Next, the scale: 4. Next, the instrument:

W = Piano

X = Clarinet

Y = Pan flute

Z = Bass (use only with octave 4 and above)

The S statement is for sustain note.

The 4th channel is for drums. M1, M2, M3 is allowed. (I don't remember the name of the drums on english, but make some experiments)

music_1:

DATA 3
    MUSIC C4W,D4W,E4W,-
    MUSIC S,S,S,-

MUSIC C4X,D4X,E4X,-
    MUSIC S,S,S,-

MUSIC C4Y,D4Y,E4Y,-
    MUSIC S,S,S,-

MUSIC C4Z,D4Z,E4Z,-
    MUSIC S,S,S,-

MUSIC -,-,-,M1
    MUSIC -,-,-,M2
    MUSIC -,-,-,M3

Hope this helps.