IGNORED

My first homebrew game - Lunar Lander

Yoruk

Hello there,

I'm proud to present my first attempt to create a Vectrex game. It's a very simple port of Lunar Lander :

image.thumb.png.7c7937fe866cbb3b85f5e43216785883.png

The goal is of course to land on the moon without damage, and by using the less fuel as possible.

Don't expect a very long and detailed game; this project is for me a way to discover programming on this machine. For now you can "only" drive your ship and turn on the engine, and there is only one landing area. But it does compute the acceleration and speed (not as simple as I could have expected ?) so it does require some skills not to crash on the moon.

A Vectrex game is not complete without some artwork, so I also took some time to design stuff. Here is the cartridge label :

image.png.c95b4069b8752a9d1f0a1c9c8018a892.png

And an overlay ! ?

image.thumb.png.4ce63f3e8529305d4495439c83350107.png

All the designs were done on Inkscape. I'm not a huge artist, but I love how came the result.

Soon I'll share the binaries, meanwhile I still need to fix some issues and add some features (sound...).

The code is written in C, compiled with Cmoc. I'm using ParaJVE for emulation. Also used some custom made tools to create the sprites.

For the artwork I'll also try to design a coverbox and to write a manual. Didn't know if there is a way to print DIY cardboxes, it could be great to physically have this game in my game collection. ?

• Like 10

2 hours ago, Yoruk said:

It's a very simple port of Lunar Lander

[..] it could be great to physically have this game in my game collection