IGNORED

838 - IO Card (Flex Interface card replacement!)

Shift838

Introducing the 838 IO Interface Card

I think it's time to share one of the projects that has been long coming and I can see the light at the end of the tunnel.

I have been tossing around the idea for about 5 or 6 years to do this as I have seen many post about how much TI'ers hate the firehose cable on the Flex Interface.  I attempted it once (hand wired) some years ago and ran into a few issues and put it up for a while.  A few months ago I decided to make another go at it.  

For a prototype I hand wired a side port  withi a dual sided proto board and a PEB card using one of @KsarulPEB prototype boards.

I chatted via email with a few TI'ers like @InsaneMultitasker @Ksarul and @fabrice montupet for some ideas and explanations on things.  Thanks guys!

The concept I wanted to do was to create a smaller footprint of the side port mainly with a less bulky cable and instead use a standard 40 pin IDC ribbon cable (not an IDE cable).  I also wanted to go ahead and perform the upgrades for the so called Flex Cable Tune Up to allow for faster data transfer using the 74HCT244's if a TI'er decided to upgrade the 32k on the 16bit bus inside the console or a faster crystal.  So the below was born.

I decided to create the side port as a vertical standing board to reduce the real-estate.  Keep reading, there is a theoretical surprise at the end (if it works) for the die hard TI'ers!

Here are photos of the hand wired prototype boards for both PEB and side port:

proto-bottom.thumb.jpg.4d68648e46aa82d23398525140ec7a3b.jpgproto-top.thumb.jpg.74af4db7a0679f427c3482dd7e31d544.jpg

quite a few wires as you can see.  But it worked the first time!