IGNORED

The Ascent

Cobra Kai

I just started playing The Ascent this week. It's a cyberpunk Diablo-ish action RPG. Here you get machine guns and biomechanical/robotic augmentations to your person, instead of fantasy and magic.

I don't know if I like it yet, but I haven't played it all that much, just a couple of hours. I need to get used to the iconography, and learn my way around the mega-city. Controls are smooth, and the graphics are outstanding.

Ok, I had a good play session today, and I am totally getting into this game now. It is basically Diablo III with machine guns, and in a blade runner mega-city. 

There is a main story to follow, plus side missions. There are mobs of enemies to fight, plus elite named enemies that are more difficult but drop better loot. I've cleared a few missions, defeated some big bosses, leveled up a bunch of times, and done some crafting...did I mention CRAFTING? Yes, you can upgrade your guns, of which there are many varieties. This game is all about the guns, from various pistols, submachine guns, shotguns, rocket launchers, heavy machine guns. You also have a variety of 'tactical' weapons, most of which I've seen so far are various grenades with different effects, such as EMP grenades to the standard explosive kind. 

The controls are twin-stick, one for movement, one to aim. Pulling the right trigger fires the weapon. This scheme reminds me of Cannon Spike (Dreamcast). You can have 2 weapons for quick use, simply pressing the Y button swaps weapons. LB or RB activates your augmentation skills. Pretty simple about the combat really.