IGNORED

Real or reproduction Mine Storm overlay?

Lamer Deluxe tm

I recently got a really nice set of 16 Vectrex games with overlays and manuals (and an extra controller). It included the Mine Storm overlay as well, which was awesome, as I had been using one I printed and laminated myself for about twenty years.

Sadly, when I tried cleaning it with some lukewarm water and soap, only using my hands to gently rub it, some of the blue coloring flaked off and left a large clear spot near the center of it.

Instead of waiting another twenty years, I decided to immediately look for a replacement and found one at a retro store. I received it yesterday, but it is not the same as the one I had.

It is thicker, has a much more intense color, the white paint at the back is more opaque (and it doesn't completely reach one of the corners) and the cross hairs at the back are black instead of red. There's no mention of it being a reproduction on it anywhere, but one other difference is a number after the copyright text: 120001-0001

The resulting image is much better colored and really sharp (the old overlay has a lot of micro-scratches of course and this new one is in a really good state).

Now if this is a reproduction, it is incredibly well done and I am unable to find out who could have made it. I only found one small image where the overlay had a number and this lady just said she had found an overlay for her Vectrex, seemed to indicate an original one.

Another possibility would be that this is another (later) version of the original overlay. I live in the Netherlands, so our Vectrexes are later versions and my model doesn't buzz either for instance.

I haven't heard anything about different versions of original overlays, does anyone here know about that? Does anyone here know anything about the added number? Or who could have made this if it is a reproduction?