IGNORED

Just trying to get started here

groovis

I'm trying to get my feet wet with Jagstudio here and I checked out some of the demos but I'm getting stuck already on the dumbest thing. I have some programming experience - mostly python and then some Java and C++ back in school some years back. I made a pong game once.

In any case, I was looking at the debugview basic demo and I'm not having a lot of luck getting it to who what I want - in particular just displaying the screen coordinates of that little bug guy. I tried to get that debug box to print a line with the value for sprite[sprBugIndex].x at the bottom there instead of "This is some debug text" but nothing showed up. So then I tried just printing it right to the screen with rapPrint but that didn't work out too well either. A text string would print fine but it doesn't seem to want to print the x and y properties I'm looking for and nothing shows up.

So then I thought maybe I need to cast it to a string and the language doesn't like me treating ints as strings. I looked in the docs and saw there's a jsfPrintInt and that actually printed some sort of number for sprite[sprBugIndex].x but it was ridiculously huge and had a lot of digits. My jaguar window isn't anywhere near that many pixels wide. Neither is my real monitor for that matter so I don't know what number that is meant to represent.

So then I went back to the reference manual and I see there's this rapNumToStr command, but the example seems to be about a different command. "Example: bin2asc(987,2,out$)" so does that mean I would need to use bin2asc()? And I would have to store the value in a variable such as out$ and I couldn't just use it without that parameter in a print statement or elsewhere? Something like, rapPrint "Here 's the x coordinate: " + bin2asc(sprite[sprBugIndex].x,3)