IGNORED

New emulator "Felix" - help needed

laoo

Hello there!

What do you think about the idea to try to create a new Lynx emulator? Because let’s face it. Handy, to put it mildly, has few shortcomings. It’s old, hardly maintainable and it isn’t precise enough to meet today’s standards. Practically every console nowadays has a decent emulator except Lynx (even such niches like Neo Geo Pocket, Wonderswan etc).

Some time ago during pandemic lockdown I decided to toy with the idea. Partly as a C++ exercise and to find how hard it is. General premise was to make a foundation for an emulator that will (unlike Handy) emulate our handheld in cycle exact manner. I was writing it for around half a year now with long breaks (actually May-July 2010 and May-August 2021) and have something that isn’t production ready, but I’ve decided that it’s stable enough to be shown to you.

I’m not good with naming things so it stuck with an abbreviation of “Felis lynx” so here it is: Felix.

It still needs much fiddling and tuning but the effect so far is in my opinion quite satisfactory: screen DMA is processed per byte so it is possible to change palette in the middle of the line, sprite blitting can be interrupted, etc. It happily emulates everything what we wrote (our games and demos work great. Actually it’s the answer to how we manage to generate good quality video of “Unlit” as obviously Handy can’t emulate GameDrive), some things work better than in Handy, but there are still many ROMs that do not work properly or even at all. I know about some glitches in many productions (e.g. @42bs' demo0006.o fails miserably and I don't know how to debug it), also many games written in cc65 crashes or does strange things. But frankly I don’t have the necessary resources to investigate it all and pin the bugs down in a reasonable time-frame (I have my real life, work, and such). Hence this call for help.