IGNORED

My weird Dell D-Series office gaming fetish

LzarbeJm.jpg

I love D-Series dells--I have a whole, embarrassingly expensive, setup for them sitting right next to 'Beige4Daze' in my CRT gaming corner. These are the machines I occasionally brag about thrifting for under $10, because I'm always up for more fodder to slot into this setup. Make no mistake, like any hobby, they start off (really, really) cheap, but they quickly become a real money pit. They're pretty fun to hotrod out, by taking advantage of the business computer "legacy driver support" to rock older OSes, that are spec'd to the max. I tend to use them for win95-winXP era gaming, and tend to stick to a maxxed-out XP build, but dell has drivers to go back to win2000, even.

yB44MC3.png

(my main D-series, a Dell Precision M2300 with extra cooling sticking out where the keyboard/monitor go)

This post is here because I finally made a video on that setup:

Maybe the video doesn't quite do its gaming power justice, but I had to skip lots of my favorite games that wanted to push that monitor to 85hz, making it very pretty, but tough to sync to the 60fps camera. (yes I tried turning the desktop refresh down to see if the games would pick up on it)

And you know what, these d-series' game along pretty well. Of course they do, it's windows xp32, on an ssd, with max ram, and 128mb nvidia graphics--it's going to be able to game just fine (*from a select era). They'll do linux too, but few modern distros are light enough for that processor, and when they are, it's still struggling (Lubuntu runs about the best, even peppermint was kind of too heavy)