IGNORED

Mega Man: The Wily Wars

jeremiahjt

I got a chance to take a look a my new copy of Mega Man: The Wily Wars Collector's Edition by Retro-Bit. And play it. As far as the package goes I like it. I think the price was well worth it for the game and all the extras.

On to the game play. As someone who lived in the US and did not have the Sega Channel, this is my first time playing the game. Although I have played through the NES versions many times, especially the first one. I started playing the first Mega Man and swept through the boss stages. I beat every stage including bosses without losing a life except for Guts Man's stage. Now I do not think I could do this on the NES version right now, so I think the difficulty in the boss stages has been toned down.

I did die a couple of times in Dr. Wily's first stage thanks to the floating and shooting platforms. I think the Yellow Devil is harder than the NES version. In the second stage of Dr. Wily's castle I hit a wall. The Elec Man fight gave me some trouble and killed me more than once. The big difficulty increase came with the Copy Robot. I could not beat him. In the NES version I choose Fire Man's Firestorm and use the shield anytime the Copy Robot gets close. That no longer works as the Copy Robot now just keeps coming. I had him down to two bars with the Elec Beam once, but I ran out of weapon energy and could not finish it off.

Anybody else play their copy yet? Or any reproduction copy they have had for a while and want to chime in.  I am curious if anybody played the original Sega Channel release and noticed any differences. I know Retro-Bit says they fixed some of the slow-down problems.

• Like 2