IGNORED

Can I connect a Windows 95 computer to the internet?

RetroB1977

1 hour ago, mr_me said:

Install the TCP/IP network protocol, if it's not already.  Set it to get settings from server and default gateway assuming you have a DHCP server.

I'm no expert on security but it's usually not recommended to put these old operating systems on the internet.

Okay I have already installed TCP/IP. I don't have a DHCP server though. (Sorry, I'm a noob at networking.) Also I only plan to just mess around with it, not keep it long term.

Edited by RetroB1977

3 minutes ago, Tuxon86 said:

I wonder what will be the time it takes for a win95 machine to get hacked/contaminated if hooked up to the internet today...

Maybe forget connecting it to the internet... Could I connect to my Linux Sambashare server safely?

Edited by RetroB1977

4 hours ago, mr_me said:

Install the TCP/IP network protocol, if it's not already.  Set it to get settings from server and default gateway assuming you have a DHCP server.

I'm no expert on security but it's usually not recommended to put these old operating systems on the internet.

Putting it on the internet OUTSIDE the firewall is bad.  Inside is fine, just browse carefully.  Though most of the browsers aren't going to load many modern websites anyway.

• Like 1

It has been so long since I file shared a PC with my Mac or through any computer connected to a router.  In the Network Control Panel, turn on File Sharing, or whatever is there.  And inside a Windows Explorer window, under one of the menus should be an option to "Connect to Server" or some such, or is it under the START icon in the bottom left hand corner.  (sooooo looooog agoooo, memooooooory fadiiiiiing)  Enter the servers network address.  Something like HTTP://169.0.168.3, or whatever the routers address displays.  The server device should mount on the desktop or in Windows Explorer.

All I remember is I did a lot of file transferring through Windows Explorer.