IGNORED

convert d64 to crt

Apologies if this has already been asked and answered, I did do a search but found no answer.

I have a bunch of games in d64 format that I want to convert to crt so I can put on my EasyFlash 3,

what is the simplest to use software that can do this?

I'm relatively new to C64 stuff and just learning all this.

Thank in advance.

Edited by Steve Jones

Are your games single filed with one or more games per D64? In that case there are cartridge collection generators, e.g. Draco's cart maker (Java applet).

If it is a game with multiple files to be loaded, it would require much more work to convert it into an EasyFlash CRT image, not trivial.

• 2 weeks later...

Just get a SD2IEC for disk games or see if you can find .prg versions.

On 3/4/2022 at 11:48 AM, carlsson said:

Are your games single filed with one or more games per D64? In that case there are cartridge collection generators, e.g. Draco's cart maker (Java applet).

If it is a game with multiple files to be loaded, it would require much more work to convert it into an EasyFlash CRT image, not trivial.

You can't put .d64 files on an EasyFlash... just .crt and .prg files.

The final result looks identical, so I suppose the different tools install the same menu system, just different PC tools to create the CRT image itself. I agree that Draco is a bit strange to get running, mainly because it is made in Java which itself is a strange component.

Anyway, @Steve Jones hasn't commented any further so either he got the tools he needs or gave up. The hint to look on CSDb for ready-made images of the more complex games is a good one. For instance I found a single filed version of M.U.L.E. so I could put it onto my EasyFlash among other games. That one only loads two parts in a given order so perhaps it was easier than converting e.g. the Epyx games series (which I know exist as a ready-made CRT) or something else that relies on a lot of disk access.

2 minutes ago, carlsson said: