IGNORED

Sokoban-2022-03-11

AdamWozniak

5 hours ago, Pat Brady said:

Very nice! How many levels?

i forget, my workflow has a script that just fills empty ROM with levels.

Each level is a 256 bytes, so MAX on a 4K cart (no code!) would be 16.

"GAME SELECT" will cycle through the levels.

i'm currently working on a larger bankswitched version...

8 hours ago, AdamWozniak said:

it's been a sort of lifelong dream to code for this box.

what a chore.

at least this effort works / is playable.

be gentle, it's my first time.

soko-2022-03-11.bin 4 kB · 8 downloads

Very nice!

I played the first three levels, but there are some scanline issues when moving around. You should use the developer settings in Stella or Gopher2600 when you are developing on emulators.

1 hour ago, Al_Nafuur said:

Very nice!

I played the first three levels, but there are some scanline issues when moving around. You should use the developer settings in Stella or Gopher2600 when you are developing on emulators.

i'm certain i violate frame timing when you move.  it doesn't really show in the emulator.  is it that noticeable on a TV?

1 hour ago, Al_Nafuur said:

Very nice!

try this one, i think it will be more stable.  Also, F6 bankswitching, and 40 levels.

soko-2022-03-12.bin

• Like 8

6 hours ago, AdamWozniak said:

i'm certain i violate frame timing when you move.  it doesn't really show in the emulator.  is it that noticeable on a TV?

It depends on the TV and on the settings of your emulator. But it was extremely noticeable on my CRT TV.

5 hours ago, AdamWozniak said:

try this one, i think it will be more stable.

?

Yes, line count seems to be much more stable on this version! I had no issues on my CRT TV when moving around, only when I restarted a game or select a level with the select switch the screen jumps (mostly)

5 hours ago, AdamWozniak said:

Also, F6 bankswitching, and 40 levels.

I like that the levels can be selected with the select switch!