IGNORED

Is their a market for new games on old platforms?

atarilux

While initially I will probably write some software and give it away, is there really a market for making and selling games for these older platforms? I notice a few people trying it online, in particular the 8-bit Guy. Also I notice most games for these older platforms is being given away for free, which of course is nice.

I would not be looking to make a living from it, but making some money from having fun is a good thing. Also, I used to work in the software industry, so I'd quite enjoy such a challenge. 

It's just a thought, so feel free to say it is dumb.

• Like 2

Oh yeah, just have a look around the home-brew and programming threads here in every category. Or the AtariAge Store for examples. 

Lots of people making lots of games for nearly every game and computer system out there. The Intellivision home-brew scene has been on fire ever since IntyBASIC came about. Same with the ColecoVision. And there's been a market for 2600 home-brews since the 90's. The Atari 7800 platform for some time now too.

Consumers (especially those that subscribe to game forums) are always on the lookout for new and high quality games. 

-edit-

Saw your two notifications before I hit send. Slow on the draw 'cause my post was longer and included the ever important embedded hyperlink, which took a few more seconds.   ?

• Like 3
  • Haha 1

22 hours ago, atarilux said:

While initially I will probably write some software and give it away, is there really a market for making and selling games for these older platforms? I notice a few people trying it online, in particular the 8-bit Guy. Also I notice most games for these older platforms is being given away for free, which of course is nice.

I would not be looking to make a living from it, but making some money from having fun is a good thing. Also, I used to work in the software industry, so I'd quite enjoy such a challenge.