IGNORED

Is removing old youtube videos bad?

Is it bad to 'unlist' old youtube videos? And what is best to do about them?

I have a youtube channel that I've been posting videos on since 2011. On and off...mostly off, but it's old.

About a year ago, I noticed that youtube was almost entirely recommending my 'most popular' videos, which are my oldest and worst videos, as they've had a decade to gather views from a time when youtube standards were much lower. I noticed these as suggested videos down the side of my screen when I watched other videos. I switched the worst of these offenders from 'public' to 'unlisted' and that problem vanished, but it makes me wonder if that was a good idea.

Of my 'top 10' videos by-viewcount, 9 are now unlisted. The result is removing over 112k views from a very small channel (162k views total). Which sounds like a terrible(!) idea when I write it out. So assuming it's awful, what's best? Just putting them back? 

Or am I caught in a bad cycle, and really need to just start over?

Edited by Reaperman

It's your channel so you can do what you want with the videos you produced.

Having said that if it was me I would leave them up as a way of preserving the information they convey, much like old websites.

Even long time more famous YouTubers like LGR still has videos up from many years ago which people still watch even though they could have been "done better" but was from a time when most people had simple Flip Video cameras and not all this professional equiptment.

Yeah there might be some idiot zoomer in the comments bitching about the video being in 240p instead of 4K but screw 'em...

• Like 3

I guess the direction I was going was 'does it hurt the channel in terms of impressions/rankings/etc?'--but I don't think google puts out enough solid info to know for sure. Wondering things like this probably signals the start of a 'youtube blues' cycle on my part. ;)