IGNORED

selfish play(ers) on online multiplayer games

jd_1138

I started playing NBA2K online when I got my Xbox One 2 years ago. It's always frustrating to see how selfish your teammates can be. I prefer to play the format where you're one of 5 players on your team against a team of 5 other players.

A team sport like basketball requires team work if you want to win. I set screens, picks, etc. for my teammates, so they can score easily. And I pass to them when they're open. But when you got the ball, no one sets screens for you, so you can score easier.  When you are wide open, they usually won't pass to you, as they want to score themselves. Only time they pass to you is if they get guarded heavily. And by then you are so guarded yourself, you can't possibly score.

And on defense, I rotate to defend the other team players if one of them gets free, but chances are your teammates won't rotate to guard. They just stick to their man if that, so it makes the other team have an easier time scoring. 

Oh and a lot of players just up and quit after a minute if their team is losing, leaving 2-3 players. Then it dwindles down to maybe 1-2 at the end. Which is a good thing, as the AI players are usually better (and more team work oriented than the human players).

I like to play as a big -- center or power forward, so I am not that fast as the other players, but I grab tons of rebounds, block a lot of shots. And would score way more if they passed to me when I am open (I fight to get open). When you're an unselfish team player, the people you set up to score a lot will end up with 3x more points but they couldn't get those points if it weren't for the unselfish players. So the unselfish player like me may end up with 10 boards, 10 blocks, 10 assists, 5 points. Then the teammate left at the end has like 25 points, 2 boards, 2 assists, and 0 blocks, but they'll send you a nasty message "we'd have won if you scored more!" :)