IGNORED

ACSI2SD 1GB Image + Cubase

I'm new to the Atari ST so please be gentle XD

I've got a 1040 STf with Rainbow TOS, the ACSI2SD solution, and high-res mode via the SM125. I can autoboot with it thanks to this 1GB image. This machine is connected to my digital piano and MT32-Pi via MIDI cables.

What I want to do is put Cubase on it and play around with some music, but every time I find a copy of Cubase to use (whether Lite or *ahem* otherwise) and put it on my SD card the program goes to launch then closes immediately with no error message. Sometimes I see a few bombs on the screen but only for a flash second.

From my research, it seems like Cubase isn't written to be run from a hard disk but even when I put the files on a floppy it does not work either. :(

Do you have any ideas?

Edited by rocky1138

39 minutes ago, TGB1718 said:

I just tried Cubase Lite from a hard disk download in SteemSSE and it loaded fine.

I'm using TOS 2.06 STE 4MB (same as my real STE)

Hmm OK. I'm sure it's something I am doing. Did you get Cubase Lite from here? If not, can you link to the site you got it from please?

6 hours ago, zzip said:

How much RAM do you have, do you have auto boot programs and/or desk accessories loading that are consuming extra memory? 

Also do you have issues loading any other apps?

I've started to suspect it's a lack of RAM, as well. I tried opening SYSINFO.PRG and it stated that it wouldn't run because it needed at least 350 kB free :(. I don't know how to check for boot programs and/or desk accessories. There isn't anything in any of the dropdown menus in TOS to show those AFAICT.

It might be best to buy/build one of these 4MB RAM expansions: https://github.com/agranlund/STRam.

4 minutes ago, rocky1138 said: