IGNORED

VBXE Bliiter?

I'm doing some blitter tests with the VBXE and blitter. Since I'm just a hobby programmer I never used any form of blitter before and I'm curious how things can be done.

First, when I'm doing a blitter start by writing #1 to VBXE_BLITTER_START, there will be 12 blitterblock done, and I should wait some time till its finished. I see examples which waits for VBXE_BLITTER_BUSY - but in the manual I read that after each blitterblock in the blitlist it will change from 1 to 0, and with the next blitterblock in the blitterlist it will be 1 again, and so on for the 12 blitblock.

Why should I wait for the Busy flag to be 0? The blitlist isn't done completed yet, just 1 blitblock is done. should I count the 11 changes- and then I know the blitlist is done? Or don't I unstand it correctly? ?

Also, if I have multiple sprites which are blitblocks, and these sprites are enemy's - I shoot them randomly... I will remove this sprite(blitterblock) from the blitlist, so it dissapears. Then i need to change the blitlist on the fly. Or should I just change to source/destination of a unused blitblock to something you can't see? What is a good way to remove/add blitterblock to a blitlist and how to keep track of this ? Also, right now I'm doing multiple different blitlist. One for Tiles, One other for sprites etc.

Thanks again for the help ?

• Like 1

The busy register has 2 bits - I'm fairly sure I've just tested for 0 value to ensure everything's finished.

Bit 1 = 1 means actual blit is in progress.  Bit 0 = 1 means A BCB is being read.

Given that VBXE can read an entire BCB in under 3 6502 cycles (dependent on losses to higher priority fetches), it'll actually be fairly rare to check the status register and find it in that state.

An annoyance can be that there's no skip facility for objects that you want to keep defined by not draw at a particular time.