IGNORED

Purgatory (Limbo Themed Pitfall Hack)

LatchKeyKid

Hey folks!  I'm new to the 2600 scene and decided to dip my toes into the homebrew pool over on the shallower hacking end due to having almost zero programming knowledge or experience.  I decided to go with a Pitfall hack themed after a much more recent indy game, Limbo.  It's still Pitfall in gameplay but I've changed the graphics (sprites and colors) and a bit of the sound to the more muted style of Limbo.  Thanks to all those who have helped over the past couple weeks as I've been trying put this out including @Thomas Jentzsch for the original disassembly, @alfredtdk for his tips on sprite and color swaps, @Nukey Shay for the code to animate previously static objects, and @alex_79 and @orange808 for help with B&W and sound coding!

1081044440_PurgatoryV1.0.thumb.png.b7dd81f41624ee4e3f59be30379a3f2d.png

I still hope to in the future add a short tune (8 notes that I've got the TIA codes for) to the intro and death tunes but that will take a bit more time (and learning!) on my part to accomplish.  There is a glitch in that when you die due to the newly animated centipede while on the ladder that you respawn on an invisible clipped ladder instead of dropping down from the tree tops.  You're not stuck but can move up and down the invisible ladder to get off and/or avoid the cycling insect though.  For those with PAL displays, let me know if the B&W palette still works as in the NTSC screenshot below.  I set Stella to PAL but it gave me a very dark screen regardless of what colors I set in the code so I'm not sure if that's just a display problem on my end (NTSC laptop screen?) or if it's actually happening on PAL displays as well.

Edit:  I've finally added the v1.4 version to this first post as I didn't catch that it wasn't posted here for ease of download.  It should be the final one for the forseeable future unless someone finds a major game breaking bug introduced as a result of my hack!