IGNORED

Can't get more than a beep with POKEY

Ecernosoft

Hi!

So I'm no expert, ok? I've been working on It's Conner time! for the atari 7800 and wanted to include a POKEY soundtrack. 

But because I had trouble getting it to work on my 7800 emulator, I thought that maybe I had the header wrong. (I wanted POKEY at $800)

So I tried doing a POKEY test for the 5200. But no matter what, all I could get is a simple beep. Does anyone have 5200 or 7800 source code (If it is a 7800 source code, please include the header!) for POKEY? Anything would work. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong!

What I tried to do was write Ax to AUDC0 and set AUDF0 to some random number. But instead of hearing a square wave, I got NOTHING. (I also had AUDCTL set to $00, that might be the problem) Just a simple plucking sound. 

I've never coded for POKEY so any help would be greatly appreciated!

Basically, all I want to know is how to get a square wave and a noise wave with POKEY. 

Even just the hex values for AUDCx, and AUDTCL would work. 

(will setting AUDTCL to $00 work though?)

What is weird is all the documentations on POKEY don't seem to work in my emulator, OR my 5200 one. 

To be sure, I tested Mountain king (5200) on my 5200 emulator and IT works...

On the 5200 it does at least... Still can't get the 7800 to work. ?

Edit: Now I've got it working on the 7800 using POKEY@450 but.... not the concerto. ( I do have a POKEY, an origonal POKEY, in my concerto) 

Edited by Ecernosoft

• 5 months later...
On 6/29/2022 at 2:10 PM, Eagle said:

Did you reset Pokey?

lda #$03
sta skctl

I just ran into this exact same problem and was lucky enough to find this post-- the above 2 commands are the key to suddenly making everything work.

I'll admit that I don't really understand the magic, though.  According to the POKEY wikipedia page: