IGNORED

Assembly language VS batari Basic

kid_snz

Hello everyone!

I am a newbie who just recently started learning batari Basic. I guess this has probably been discussed here in the past, but I couldn't find it so I decided to post this.

Are there any differences in features between games written in Assembly language and batari Basic? For example, something can't be done with one or the other, or something is much easier with either one. I'm new and I don't want to try Assembly language at first, but I wanted to know if there is any difference in knowledge.

Arigato,
Shinji

batari BASIC gives you a variety of graphic kernels pre-made.  These have advantages and disadvantages that are set in stone.

So, the good news is that you can focus on content creation and game design.  The bad news is sometimes you spend brain power working around features that might be lacking in one kernel or another.

UPDATE:  I should also explain that programmers have to tell the 2600 how to draw things on the screen at a very low level - literally line by line on a TV screen.  So, no tile buffer or hardware scrolling.  One must write assembly to manually draw things on the screen and leave time enough for game logic.  batari BASIC takes care of most of that.

• Like 2

If you've used basic before then it certainly helps with using any basic program or modern basic compiler for those systems.

As a new programmer even having zero basic understanding batari basic would be recommended. You can make games fairly quickly, with the feel of a game and get fulfillment. 

I would recommend checking out tutorials available here and elsewhere on the Internet.