IGNORED

Large text modes in FastBasic

I'm new at FastBasic, and I've run into a roadblock before I've barely started. I can't seem to find an answer anywhere.

To learn it, I'm converting one of my old BASIC XL programs, which includes a title screen in GR. 2.

I assume the graphics modes work the same as in other Atari BASICs, but I can't seem to display anything in GR. 2. The GR. 2 part of the screen at the top is just black. PRINT statements only seem to affect the GR. 0 "window" at the bottom of the screen. I've tried PUT, but that doesn't seems to work either. I've also tried "PRINT #6;", which just gives a parsing error. Nothing. I've looked through the documentation for FastBasic, but it seems to imply that graphics modes should work just like other BASICs.

Am I missing something obvious?

Edited by Mark Simonson
  • Like 1

It's too bad it lacks an immediate mode (unless I'm missing something). That's one thing I like about other BASICs. It's often useful to work with a language interactively to try things out or to inspect variables after a run.

Otherwise, I like it a lot.

Edited by Mark Simonson
  • Like 1

You are not missing it. There is no immediate mode, as the source code is "compiled" to be run. Neither can you resume a stopped program when the break key is used.

And you are also right. When I need to inspect variables or something else, if I cannot use Altirra's debugger, I have to insert code to display variables in the source and run, then remove it or comment out. But it is not a pain anyway.

13 hours ago, Mark Simonson said:

It's too bad it lacks an immediate mode (unless I'm missing something).

You have to treat it like any compiled language i.e. C, Pascal even assembler, generally if I can't print to screen

during the run to determine variable, you can monitor using a debugger, failing that I tend to store variable

values at know addresses and inspect them after the run, not ideal, but it does work as @vitoco indicates