IGNORED

Need help troubleshooting a Mega ST2

I am fairly new to the Atari ST, having issues with a Mega ST2 and I am currently lost. It was working just fine it seemed. Needed a good cleaning and many keys need a hard press. Also the battery compartment was covered in battery acid. However, it does have an internal hard disk and would boot to the desktop, I could read floppies, etc.

Cleaned everything up, added a Gotek drive and it seemed to continue to work. I put SYSINFO on a disk image and loaded it up.
I then added some batteries and attempted to set the clock (via control panel).
After disconnecting everything and setting it up on a more permanent workbench where I could start using it, it wouldn't boot. After a few minutes it would go to a TOS desktop where SOMETIMES I could read floppy images. I could boot into the Gotek menu and launch some floppies some times, but I could never get it to boot a floppy image.

Not sure what to do next, I decided to recap the power supply. All voltages test good but still same issues. One time after a restart the hard drive began to boot but hung and gave me "sense $10" which in my experience is a hard drive failure. Tried a few things to get the hard drive going, but through all this I could never get a floppy to boot.
I switched back to the original floppy drive and have not be able to read anything. When TOS opens and I try to open a disk the floppy light flickers but I get nothing.
The only thing that I can launch consistently is the Gotek autoboot launcher.

It's really bothering me, since I changed the time, it has basically been a paper wait. Any advice is appreciated. Attached is the SYSINFO right before it died.

IMG_20220724_200748.jpg

10 hours ago, ParanoidLittleMan said:

Not clear from your post:  did you disconnect hard drive before later tests ? That's what need to do, and best to disconnect it's controller from ACSI bus too, it it is not integrated with drive.  Then checking how reliable floppy works.