IGNORED

Just drove 101 miles to pick up an Amiga 500

Zap!

Long story short, it was listed as untested. A couple about 70 came in an SUV and met me in a parking out. They said it was their son's, who are now 45 and 49, and it's been sitting in their attic for decades. They said it powers on, but they can't test it. It just comes with what's in the pics. I'll power it on as soon as I finish this post and eat. I paid $200, btw.

They also had an Atari 1200 XL, Atari 7800 Pro System, and a couple of other things. The only other thing I bought was a weird 70's computer that seems to be in kit form. It's still in my trunk, but will post pics if requested. I paid $20 for that.

Looks clean from what I can see, but I'm far from an expert. So, does anything stick out? I will first check the expansion for a batter and leakage. Is there any way to test this today? I have a PVM and an Atari SC1435 RGB's. Looks like I'll have to order one. Anyway, here are the first few pics. I'll be back here within the hour...

20220805_212707.jpg

20220805_215839.jpg

20220805_214156.jpg

20220805_214144.jpg

20220805_214132.jpg

• Like 3

Hmm, isn't there supposed to be a metal housing protecting the RAM expansion? This has none. Battery unfortunately has leakage, but that was expected...

So, just tried a composite cable plugged into the mono port (I had mis takingly thought it was an audio port before I read that it's composite b&w). Anyway, nothing. A greyish signal of some sort changed on my monitor, but nothing else. I tried a disk (that may or may not be working). Nothing, although I hear the disk slide when powered on, but no boot. No power LED either, just the screen turning to that grey color.

20220805_231549.jpg

20220805_231603.jpg

20220805_231623.jpg

20220805_231659.jpg

20220805_231714.jpg

20220805_233322.jpg

Edited by Zap!
  • Like 2

1 hour ago, Zap! said:

Hmm, isn't there supposed to be a metal housing protecting the RAM expansion?

Not all of them do.