IGNORED

How to port a game to CV?

SiRioKD

Hi, how can I port a game to CV? This game is 256KB in size and uses an ASCII16 compatible mapping. The cartridge slot has chip select only for ROM area but I need 16KB of RAM at least and (as far as I understood) CV sports only 1KB of ram.

I studied the expansion connector a little bit but I cannot see how bypass the internal memory addressing circuit.

Any infos are appreciated.

Regards,

Saverio Russo / SC-3000 Survivors

You are going to need to use a Megacart (or Megacart like) ROM layout and the game will need to use the Super Game Module (and this also gives you the MSX sound chip which will make your port easier), which will give you up tp 32k of Ram if you need it.

A number of MSX ports, use the bottom 16k Ram space to replace the Coleco BIOS with a MSX BIOS.

The Megacart info (from my book is as follows):

The MegaCart is a special design (originally by Bryan Edward) that allows ROMs to contain up to 1MB if required.
The cartridge can be several different sizes as follows:

• 128K - 8 banks of 16K
  • 256K - 16 banks of 16K
  • 512K - 32 banks of 16K
  • 1MB - 64 banks of 16K

The first 16K of ROM is fixed to the last 16k section of the ROM and is located at 8000h to BFFFh on
the ColecoVision (and Adam).
The 2nd 16K area (C000h to FFFFh) can be changed to any of the banks in the cartridge (including the
last one) by reading from memory address FFC0h to FFFFh i.e. each location represents one of the
64 possible memory banks to select.
This also means the top 64 bytes (FFC0h to FFFFh) of each 16K ROM bank can’t be used.
Example Usage (from MegaCart documentation):

; For 128K Megacart (for 256K one I start on $fff0 up
; to SLOT_15 at $ffff)
SLOT_0: equ $fff8
SLOT_1: equ $fff9
SLOT_2: equ $fffa
SLOT_3: equ $fffb
SLOT_4: equ $fffc
SLOT_5: equ $fffd
SLOT_6: equ $fffe
SLOT_7: equ $ffff
; At start of code
ld hl,SLOT_0 ; Default slot of Megacart,
; but set again because user can do a ColecoVision RESET
call sel_slot