IGNORED

PC Engine / Tu8rbo Grafx arcade joystick (need some help)

virtvic

Hi there, I'm working on making some arcade joysticks for the PC Engine / Turbo Grafx. They will be the same form factor as a bunch of my other sticks -

https://i0.wp.com/tenpencearcade.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2022/08/IMG_8bit-scaled.jpg

I already have a working circuit to interface the PC Engine cable to the stick & buttons, but I'd like to add the 2 speed autofire to both buttons, like the original joypads.  Trouble is, I'm no electronics expert at all (I found the circuit online and made some on perfboard) Can anyone help me out with a circuit (or better still a pcb design) to incorporate the controls and turbo fires into one?

This is my circuit so far, an LS157 and 4 resistors. I think the original pads use a 74HC163 for the autofire pulses.

pce.JPG

On 8/25/2022 at 3:42 PM, virtvic said:

but I'd like to add the 2 speed autofire to both buttons,

May be a little late but would both buttons be linked (driven by same signal or independent, each button having it own auto fire circuit that can be switched on/off?

As previously mentioned you could use a 555 timer (plenty of circuits & calculators online) and a couple in the data sheet. You would only need to use the simplest Asynchronous (free-running) circuit, to change the speed simply switch a second resistor in parallel with the other one (or both if using that 555 circuit design), thereby changing the resistance and thus the frequency.

I have attached a simple circuit that may be suitable, which does not include the supplemental components for the full 555 circuit as it just shows how to intergrade the 555 output with the Fire Button. Its operation works on the assumption that the active fire button output is logic low (0V) and is as follows...

Switch set to 0V connection: The output of the OR gate will be that of the Fire Button (Manual Fire)