IGNORED

Top & Tom - New 2600 game

Arlasoft

After spending the past few years writing C64 & Fairchild Channel F games, I finally got round to giving the 2600 a go. This is my first attempt so I kept the scope deliberately small and knocked this up over the last few days. It's a bit rough round the edges but I've learned enough from the project in terms of what is possible to begin planning something more ambitious.

Currently NTSC only, will add in PAL compatibility and an original tune in the next few days. Instructions and some more rambling here: 

https://arlagames.itch.io/toptom-2600

Screenshot 2022-09-16 at 22.29.44.png

Untitled.png

Top&Tom.a26

Edited by Arlasoft
  • Like 12

1 hour ago, Arlasoft said:

add in PAL compatibility

To get started, do this in constants.asm:

NTSC            = 0
PAL             = 1
COMPILE_VERSION = NTSC
;COMPILE_VERSION = PAL

IF COMPILE_VERSION = NTSC

BG_COLOR = $1			; background color
TOP_COLOUR = $AA
ROAD_COLOUR = $0a
logo_color = $40

ELSE

TOP_COLOUR = $9A
ROAD_COLOUR = $0a
logo_color = $60

ENDIF

then just change which COMPILE_VERSION line is commented/uncommented to build with different colors.  This will generate a PAL60 build.

• Like 1

2 hours ago, Arlasoft said:

After spending the past few years writing C64 & Fairchild Channel F games, I finally got round to giving the 2600 a go. This is my first attempt so I kept the scope deliberately small and knocked this up over the last few days. It's a bit rough round the edges but I've learned enough from the project in terms of what is possible to begin planning something more ambitious.

Very challenging and clever design for movement of the characters, love it! I'll be featuring your game on this coming Tuesday's ZPH stream!

- James

• Like 2