IGNORED

Jumpy Screen Noob Blues

Boy I hope I didn't post this twice. Listen, I am not tech savvy, as I will demonstrate later on. Long story short: I'm new to Atari 2600 programming. I tried making a title screen. Bad way to start off, I know, but I just wanted to make something simple. Turns out it's not so simple. Why is my screen so jumpy? On an emulator it looks ok-ish. On an actual Atari it's a mess. What's up with that?

beyondsynth.a

Your frame scanline count continually jumps between 262 lines and 263 lines.  This can be seen when running in Stella: press Alt-L to see line count & frame rate.

I see you are not using the RIOT timers to do your frame timing.  Using them can help alleviate most timing issues, especially for running code during VBlank / Overscan.

Cool title screen so far.

• Like 2

I tried using the macros that 8BitWorkshop uses. I'd say it's even worse now, the scanline count still goes from 262 to 263, only even faster, which I think is an achievement. Nuts, I was hoping to expand on this and maybe make an entire full length tune. Thanks for the advice everyone. I'll figure this out eventually. Currently trying to use the RIOT timing code to see if that does anything. Thanks, Spledidnut!

3 hours ago, alex_79 said:

Moreover, you must set/clear VSYNC at the beginning of a scanline (right after a "sta WSYNC"). Currently it is set at cycle 44. Many TV don't like that and as a consequence the screen will roll/jump.

So I saw this and moved loading the music further down, since it loads before the vertical sync. Oops! However, this caused the screen to hop around even more. How do I mitigate this? Where do people usually put the music? How would I mitigate, say, a full tune? Thanks for pointing that out, by the way. I didn't even see it. New to this stuff.

18 minutes ago, CobraYouFools said:

How do I mitigate this? Where do people usually put the music? How would I mitigate, say, a full tune?