IGNORED

Ti-99/4A possibly overheating?

Diesel419

To start I want to preface this by saying I am VERY NEW to the world of TI-99 4/A computing, so my apologies for my ignorance.

My 99 is my first vintage computer and I only just got it. Also I have no cartridges yet so all I've done is start learning basic.

The computer boots perfectly and runs very well for about 10 ish minutes.

At about that time the machine starts a gradual descent into graphical corruption that ultimately ends with the screen turning into nothing but a corrupted mess.

In addition even the simplest basic programs right out of the original ti basic textbook won't execute properly during this process, constantly running into errors that aren't there.

The reason I believe this is heat related is that if you simply turn the machine off and back on again it immediately starts to corrupt again. 

But if you turn off the machine and walk away for a few minutes, then the computer starts to work correctly, for about 10ish minutes again.

Any suggestions on what might be the problem?

Edited by Diesel419

The VDP (9918A) in the 99/4A requires a heat sink.  If the console has been opened before, the heat-sink may not have been reinstalled properly.  Alternatively the heat-sink thermal paste is surely dried out by now and should be removed and replaced with fresh paste.  Just use the same stuff you find online for modern CPU coolers and such, it won't take very much.

I don't know that I have heard of the DRAM overheating.  I'm not sure if video corruption would be a symptom of power supply going bad.  But the voltages are easy enough to test with a basic volt meter.

• Like 1

First, as a former trainer in the Navy and in maintenance for a fortune 100 company, don't apologize for ignorance. Ignorance is just a matter of not knowing and that can be fixed by learning. Stupid- is a conscious decision to ignore what you know.

Second. welcome to the world of Ti-99 4a.