IGNORED

Introducing: Carol vs. Ghost Arcade Edition!

DZ-Jay

As I mentioned in an earlier post, the time has come to let the cat out of the bag and share with everyone a secret project I've been cooking up for the last two months:  Carol vs. Ghost Arcade Edition.

A Strange & Completely Random Beginning

At the end of September I received a very interesting e-mail.  The conversation went something like this (excerpted for publication):

• SOME GUY:  I own an arcade - With permission of course, do you have an arrangement for commercial use of your game?
  • ME:  What sort of use do you have in mind?  It may be something we could arrange.
  • SOME GUY:  I envisioned an arcade cabinet running your game for the Holiday/Christmas Season.  We would have to find a way to lock out any unwanted options, wire up for coin start, etc.
  • ME:  I could definitely provide a modified ROM with some tweaks to make it more "arcade-friendly" (perhaps even an "attract mode" and some branding for your location).
  • SOME GUY:  That is great news that you are considering our request.  An attract mode would be awesome!

From there on, we established a relationship and started making plans for the actual project.  It turned out I was talking to one Joe LeVan, proprietor of a real arcade.  Mr. LeVan has been in the business for over 20 years, with a solid reputation in the industry running gaming tournaments and other events.  His latest venture was to be a brand new arcade establishment named Challenge Arcade which was to have its grand opening sometime in November, a little over a month away.

So, after some long conversations and friendly negotiations, we arranged the terms of a commercial license for exclusive use of the game, and off we went to start modifying Christmas Carol as necessary.

An Ever-Growing To-Do List