IGNORED

Troubleshooting INTV1: Can't get past title screen - but only for certain games

IamTRON

Hello Everyone,

This is my first post here and I am a level 0 newbie to the world of trying to get an Intellivision up and running so I can relive the glory days.

Got an INTV 1 off E-bay which the seller said works.  And technically it does - but not completely... looking for advice on what I can do here.  

Games like Armor Battle and AD&D (not Tarmin) load up to the title screen.  No matter what buttons I push on either control (I tried them all several times) I cannot get past the title screen.  

However, games like Thin Ice and Burger Time do load up & manage past the title screen.  But... the catch there is that the directional pad "down" doesnt work.  I got it to work one time by quickly tapping hard - but it was delayed.  I also noticed that other buttons on the control pads seem to work - while other not at all.  I opened up the INTV and the Controllers.  Wire seem fine (to my level 0 newbie eyes) - same for the connections to the motherboard.  However, I did see that the membrane in the control has some dark discoloraiton at the contacts where the membrane meets the connector at the top of the controller.  I did a cotton swab wipe (no alcohol) and didn't get much of anything off it.

My gut is telling me I likely have two distinct problems: 1) something is stopping certain games from working - but I don't know what 2) I likely have a bad controller

I've ordered a tool to test voltage (so I can narrow down more specifically what might be bad in the controller).  I also ordered 2 more INTV off eBay - 1 said to be in great condition, another untested.

Any recommendations here would be greatly appreciated!  

Thanks,

Tron

Edited by IamTRON
type
  • Like 1

5 hours ago, IamTRON said:

Got an INTV 1 off E-bay which the seller said works.  And technically it does - but not completely... looking for advice on what I can do here.