IGNORED

cc2600 - a new C compiler for Atari2600

bsteux

Hi,

I'm new to the Atari 2600 community, after buying a SECAM Atari on eBay and falling in love with it. I've quickly designed a new C compiler for the Atari 2600 using the Rust programming language (another thing I fall in love with). Now that it looks complete (I've written a full game with it : HappyBird), I wanted to share this new tool to you. You'll find it at https://github.com/steux/cc2600. Contributors are welcome to test it and write tutorials and examples of use. Here are the headlines :

# cc2600

cc2600 implements a subset of C compiler for Atari 2600. The main goal of cc2600 is to enable making games for the Atari 2600
using C language, including writing kernels, not to provide full C support for the 6502
(have a look at cc65 if this is what you are looking for). Any code written for cc2600 can be compiled with gcc, but not
the other way round... The 6502 processor is famous for being an inefficient target for C compilers, due to its poor
stack support, its infamous indexing modes and its lack of registers. In addition to the limitations of the Atari 2600 (128
bytes of RAM, strong reliance on bankswitching, low speed in general), the use of pure C on this platform is limited.
cc2600 tries to cope with these limitations by not strictly implementing all C features but mapping C syntax to the specifics of 6502,
in particular indexing modes.

Note that this compiler is for writing "old school" code for ATARI 2600. It's not meant to be used for CDFJ (custom ARM
code on the Melody/Harmony cart) development, where the 6507 code is reduced to the minimum. On the contrary, it was
designed to write code the classical atari way, possibly with DPC or DPC+ accelerators or a superchip for more RAM.

cc2600 should not be a starting point for writing ATARI 2600. You'll first have to learn writing games