IGNORED

Does using a multicolor player sprite always use up the missile too?

N00b question so I figured this would be the right forum for it.  When I got into the retro-Atari scene, I noticed that alot of games didn't seem to use the missile sprites (like Pitfall) which was odd to me since I felt using them would have opened up alot of gameplay options.  When looking at the Batari Basic kernel options, I saw that using a multicolor player sprite uses up the corresponding missile and then kind of figured it was used to change the color (store the upcoming color value?).  I'm curious if that is definitely the case both with or without Batari Basic and, if so, why that's a necessary trade off.   I'm not a programmer myself but I do understand some of the lingo (enough to muddle my way through my first hack at least) and am curious as to how that works in code.  Thanks in advance.

A Player and Missile pair share the same color register (P0 with M0, P1 with M1), but are otherwise independent and you can use both on the same line.

It's more a matter of available display kernel time.  On average, you can only do 8 to 12 TIA register updates per line.  More can be done with some tricks, upto 15 with DPC+/CDFJ Fast Fetch option.

For Batari Basic, the Standard Kernel has a bunch of options allowing the user to choose which things they want to update: These options determine what TIA updates are done on a line for the entire display frame.

• Like 1

1 hour ago, splendidnut said:

A Player and Missile pair share the same color register (P0 with M0, P1 with M1), but are otherwise independent and you can use both on the same line.

It's more a matter of available display kernel time.  On average, you can only do 8 to 12 TIA register updates per line.  More can be done with some tricks, upto 15 with DPC+/CDFJ Fast Fetch option.