IGNORED

why don't my 2600 driving paddles work on my 7800?

tobias_project

i'm fairly new to the atari world.. i own a 7800 and just got a 2600 from an auction today with 2 driving paddles. however i can't use the 2600 until i get an AC for it .. but the driving paddles don't work on the 7800.. i tried playing Super Breakout.

are they just not compatable or what?

thanks for the help

carl

so i kinda got ripped off in my auction then.. ah well

I wouldn't say you got ripped off because the driving controllers are harder to come by than the normal paddle controllers. We're discussing just this in another thread:

Hardware Rarity List thread

So I'd hang onto those racing controllers and find someone willing to part with a pair of (working) paddle controllers.

..Al

Hey! Tobias project. I'm just curious, Why by the 2600? Are you starting to seriously collect all things Atari? I'm just asking, because you say your relatively new to the Atari scene, so maybe your not a full-on collector yet and just want to play the games? After all, the 7800 plays 2600 games...I'm a pretty hard-core Atari collector myself, I have the 5200, 7800, Atari 8-bit pc(130xe), Lynx and Jaguar, but even I don't own a 2600 as I play the 2600 games I have on my 7800...I MAY someday decide to start collecting 2600 consoles, but I doubt it, the 7800 is good enough for me the rare occasions that I do play 2600 games anymore...

quote:

Originally posted by Gunstar:

Hey! Tobias project. I'm just curious, Why by the 2600? Are you starting to seriously collect all things Atari? I'm just asking, because you say your relatively new to the Atari scene, so maybe your not a full-on collector yet and just want to play the games? After all, the 7800 plays 2600 games...