IGNORED

SwordQuest EarthWorld Tribute (Playoff Contest)

Asaki

"This is not the SwordQuest EarthWorld Playoff Contest. No. This is just a Tribute."

So am I just not looking hard enough, or has no one ever made a ROM hack replica of the Playoff cart? Am I the first?

John-Michael Battaglia had planned on having his original cart dumped, but since his death in 2016, it's uncertain whether this will ever happen.

So here is a tribute to him.

I'm not very good at ASM, but I made some changes to Omegamatrix's disassembly of the NTSC EarthWorld, and I've played through a few times in Stella and it seems to work correctly. It's actually almost fun.

I took some inspiration from the PAL release, mostly to see how the "ending" works, but I did not copy all of the changes it made to the game.

Interestingly, the PAL's Level 5 page still shows dagger and food. Weird. I chose not to replicate that.

If you are one of the eight people who downloaded this before, we fixed a "bug" where Levels 7 and 9 could be completed at any time, and I'm also including a new hack of the PAL ROM.

Anyway, the playoff rules/clues are included in the readme, if one does not already have them (you will need them). Like I said, my ASM is not very good, so let me know if any issues are found :)

sqewt_20230607.zip

And the very ugly source code...sorry! :)

SwordQuest EarthWorld Tribute.asm

Edit: And here is a hack of the NTSC Beta/Prototype ROM!
As far as I'm concerned, this is as close as you can get to the Real Thing (until the Real Thing gets dumped, that is).

SwordQuest EarthWorld Tribute (Beta).bin

SwordQuest EarthWorld Tribute.txt

Sparked from this thread:

Edited by Asaki
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1

AFAIK you're the only one who tried to recreate the EarthWorld contest cart, but IMHO if you do a tribute to the contest version, you should really stick to NTSC only.

Also, I think someone should double-check your ASM to make sure everything is correct.