IGNORED

OPINION: Top 5 external peripherals for the Atari 8-bit Computer line

ACML

My opinion is limited to only those external peripherals I have experience with.  If I don't mention your favorite, it's most likely because I have no experience with it.  My criteria is usability, cost, and reliability.

1)  Fujinet 1.6:  Wow!  What an amazing peripheral.  I use it mainly for two functions, disk drive and printer emulation.  It's small, has a passthrough SIO capability and a wireless network connection.  It's not too expensive, but it's not the cheapest solution if you are only looking for a drive emulator.

Fujinet Atari 65 Xe 800 XL | Zgierz | Kup teraz na Allegro Lokalnie

2) SIO2SD:  By far my favorite disk drive emulator.  It's cheap, super reliable and I just like it's onscreen interface the best.  It pretty much plays nice with everything.  I actually like the older 2.2 and 2.5 menus better than the newer 3.5 menu.

Lotharek SIO2SD v1.3 – Retro & Gaming

3) UNO Cart:  I also have the Ultimate Cart, but the capabilities it has for $63 is an amazing value.  The form factor is 1200XL friendly, you can play the Atari 128K carts (Battlezone, GATO, etc.) without a memory upgrade.  It can be Assembler Editor, Rev C BASIC, Action!, MAC/65, Microsoft BASIC II, etc.  I sold all my original cartridges as this will emulate them all.  Has a great EXE loader for playing games.  You can use the RESET button on the top of the cart to change games without cold power cycling the machine every time you want to change a game.

UnoCart Atari 800XL 130XE 65XE XEGS cartridge SDRIVE SD card grey | eBay

4) Lotharek's SIO splitter:  Late to the party, but it's the "original USB hub" from 1979.  No more need to worry about dead legged peripherals (SIO2SD, printer interface, 410, etc.).  Also has the ability to supply own 5V power so a stock 1200XL can use all the other peripherals.

Lotharek's Lair