IGNORED

Videopac G7000 CPU needed

xrbrevin

Im new to these machines, im mainly an Atari 8bit-er but ive dabbled with other makes to a lesser extent. As a kid I was always intrigued by the Philips Videopac G7000 so I just took ownership of one that boots to a black screen with audio. It is the later revision PCB with internal PSU and hardwired joysticks.

I did a composite mod but the outcome is the same altho it does confirm a signal is being generated. 5v supply is good too. There doesnt appear to be a TEA1002 IC so im now inclined to swap out the CPU - until i found that they are a mask-ROM type and a generic one will not do. So I considered a 8748 instead as I have a TL866 programmer but it is not a supported device..!

Does anyone know where i can source another CPU or is a 'workaround' adapter available for the TL866 programmer to support the 8748?

Cheers!

• 3 weeks later...

ok, ill continue this topic for what its worth. it may help people in future.

i built the EPROM programmer and it works fine. i read the EPROM part of my CPU ok, saved the .bin file and burned it to the 8748 ok too 🙃 (might mean my CPU is ok?)

i tried the 8748 in my G7000 but still just gives a black screen - gah!

i metered up the pins on the socketed ICs for continuity and noticed nearly all have dry solder joints. motivated with iron in hand, i reflowed all 3x sockets with fresh solder. in doing so i had managed to uproot the black ground wire at the motherboard end from the PSU. i proceeded to strip the insulation but the knife had a little beaded chain dangling down - it made contact with some part of the PSU (a cap?). i got a "fzzt" and now i dont have power..! this chain has now been removed... im hoping it is a fuse or something obvious.

so it continues. here is the OS ROM in case anyone needs it. it came from my G7000 - the type with hardwired joysicks, hardwired internal power transformer, hardwired RF.

G7000_os.bin

• Like 2

• 4 weeks later...