IGNORED

Internal speaker hack

Thought I'd share a high-level view of a hack I had some fun with.  If it's of interest to anyone, I can post specific parts I used and detailed instructions.  If it's *really* of interest, I would consider turning the design into a PCB that others can copy. 

The short summary is that this is a way to add an internal speaker to a TI-99/4A.

image.thumb.png.a998c0f2317e32fd617ea2eefb106c8f.png

I'm just getting into Ti-99, and there seems to be rather a dearth of external power supplies.  That meant that I had a couple of reasons for doing this:

• I was already doing an upgrade to using a 12V power brick for power
  • The monitor I was using with the system didn't have sound.

The main question was, where to put the volume control knob?  I didn't want to drill holes in the case.  That meant options were limited.  Either an external knob dangling out the back of some port (yuck), or perhaps repurposing the hole where the "power on" LED comes out.  I looked at the latter, but it was difficult to find a potentiometer with the right dimensions, and it would be awkward to have a knob sticking out the front.  I looked at thumbwheels, but they were also dimensionally challenged.

Finally I settled on putting the volume knob on the body of an Atari joystick adapter that I bought from seller techdungeon on ebay.  (High quality unit, recommended.)

image.thumb.png.ffdb420036afe3eb0ae754b0500b124a.png

This takes advantage of unused pins 1 and 6 on the joystick connector.  The audio signal goes out of the port, and the attenuated signal goes back into the computer.

image.thumb.png.5f57d1559d503b31d313cfd47f5b26d3.png