IGNORED

DK Vector Green FINAL BIN

neotokeo2001

Thank you. I've never worked with a disassembly before, but it worked.

I'm glad it helped.

PM me if you need help working with the disassembly. Using the code to create a hack opens up more possibilities (i.e. jump hang time, mario speed, etc.).

Now all I have to do is change the score color.

The color for the score digits can be found at location $F67C

The program Dasm is used to compile 2600 binaries. This gets a bit screwy when using files that generate more than 4k of data though (you'll have to split the source into two or more files and then join them later...copying jump point references into the segments). But anyway, for 4k roms, you use this command in Dos:

DASM SOURCE.ASM -F3 -OHACK.BIN

Substitute the name of your source file for "SOURCE.ASM" and the name of the binary you are creating for "HACK.BIN". If all goes well, you should find a new binary in your folder that is exactly 4096 bytes long. The source code needs to be just a plain unformatted text file (like those created with Dos's EDIT function or Windows' Notepad). When using Wordpad or something else, be sure to save the file type as unformatted.

I'm a complete newbie at the disassembly. Can changes be made directly to your disassembly and then re-compiled?

Yeah, using the program DASM that Nukey Shay mentioned you should be able to make changes and re-compile the ROM to your hack without any problems.

For example...I have a constant for JUMP_HANG_TIME. If were to increase that value and re-compile the ROM, Mario would hang in the air longer when he jumped.

Give it a try. You might have some fun with it. It would also help in being a stepping stone to writing your own 2600 game :thumbsup:

It might also help to look through Andrew Davie's 2600 programming tutorial too. A lot of early questions can be answered here.

I'm a complete newbie at the disassembly. Can changes be made directly to your disassembly and then re-compiled?